The community garden at 2323 N 5th St sits on a lot that was previously home to the St. Edward’s Technical Advisory Board Hall and the Allemania Gesangverein Society of Philadelphia. This building was demolished at one point in history, most likely…
At the intersection of Broad and Lehigh, the Philadelphia Phillies used to play in a stadium named the Baker Bowl. Currently, this site is a gas station, but it has a rich history that has not lost its significance over the years. The Baker Bowl was…
In 1845 a man by the name of Daniel Gaston became the pastor of the First Presbyterian Church of Cohocksink on Germantown and Huntington Avenues. Gaston was known for his “untiring zeal” which persisted until passed away in April of 1865. Rev.…
The Hardwick and Magee Company was a carpet manufacturer for almost 150 years in Philadelphia, with a portion of its time located and headquartered at Lehigh Avenue and 7th Street. Founded in 1837, Hardwick and Magee was one of the earlier…
The Keystone Theatre, once located at Lehigh Avenue and 11th Street, was one of the many playhouses, theatres and entertainment attractions along Lehigh Avenue during the turn of last century. Designed by architect Albert E. Westover, the Keystone…
Centro Musical is a music and instrument shop that has been in el Centro de Oro since the 1960s. It was originally housed in Teatro Puerto Rico at 6th St. and Germantown Ave, it has been at the intersection of 5th and Lehigh since the early 1970s.…
The Admiral Theater opened on September 3rd, 1928 and closed in 1976. It was one of multiple movie houses in el Centro de Oro, but it was unique in holding quarter matinees. It was also known for the ice cream shop in the lobby. Today, the building…
Taller Puertorriqueño is a non-profit that was created in 1974 in order to preserve, develop and promote Puerto Rican art and culture. Since its opening, it has become “el corazón cultural del barrio” (The Cultural Heart of the neighborhood) by…
For many years, 2713 Germantown Avenue was home to many theatres (under an array of names). The building was designed by Philadelphia architect A.E. Westover. The theater first opened as the Amusement Parlor in 1912, showing silent movies with live…