2806 N 5th St.
The Admiral Theater opened on September 3rd, 1928 and closed in 1976. It was one of multiple movie houses in el Centro de Oro, but it was unique in holding quarter matinees. It was also known for the ice cream shop in the lobby. Today, the building (designed by architecture firm Hodgens & Hill) houses Iglesia Sinai, Asambleas de Dios, a church with a congregation that draws from around eastern North Philadelphia and has roots in the neighborhood that go back 75 years.
- “Admiral Theatre.” Cinema Treasures. http://cinematreasures.org/theaters/9216
- “Admiral Theatre Opening.” Newspapers.com. https://www.newspapers.com/clip/6922388/admiral-theatre-opening/